PRI Committee 2013 Report

The Policy, Research & Investigation Committee (PRI) held its annual meeting on Friday, May 17, 2013, 10-11 am. Attending the meeting were PRI members Cecilia Sercán, John B. Wright, Gayle Williams and Ellen Jaramillo (chair). Member Mark Grover arrived the following day and checked in with the Committee. We were delighted to have 12 additional conference attendees join the meeting, and explained to them the purpose of PRI, to serve as a “committee on committees,” advising the Executive Board with respect to the structure and formation of committees and assignment of committee responsibilities appropriate to SALALM goals, and encouraged them to join PRI.

PRI members wondered whether ISiS (Iberian Studies in SALALM) and ALZAR (Academic Latina/o Zone of Activism & Research) might find it better serves their needs if their groups would move from the status of “affiliated” or topical group to become Subcommittees. ISiS member Miguel Valladares was in attendance and said he would ask their membership. The idea was also introduced at the first Executive Board meeting on Saturday afternoon. There was no further action.

The Committee agreed that the deadline for receiving resolutions from the membership would be Monday, May 20, 2013, at 5:45 pm (before the Host Institutions’ Reception), and resolutions could be given to any PRI member. [This was announced at the Opening Session on Sunday morning, and members identified themselves.] The meeting was adjourned.

PRI met again on Tuesday, May 21, 2013, and discussed a resolution received from Peter T. Johnson, who proposed that the SALALM Scholarship Taskforce become the Subcommittee for the SALALM Scholarship, within the Membership Committee. Documentation on the purpose and activities of this proposed subcommittee has been crafted and will be sent to PRI. The documentation will be incorporated into the ongoing updating of the Operations Handbook. This resolution was presented at the Town Hall meeting on Wednesday, was seconded, and approved by the SALALM membership. PRI also drafted the following resolutions, which were presented at the resolutions at the Town Hall meeting on Wednesday; they were seconded, and approved by the SALALM membership.


At the 58th Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials, meeting in Coral Gables, Florida, May 17-22, 2013, be it resolved that SALALM thank:

our Academic Sponsors:

Florida International University Libraries, University of Miami Libraries, University of Pittsburgh University Library System, Center for Latin American Studies, University of Miami, and the Latin American and Caribbean Center at Florida International University.

our Coffee Break Sponsors:

Casalini Libri, e-Libro, Gale Cengage Learning, Libros Andinos, Retta Libros, and Susan Bach Books.

our Libreros’ Reception Sponsors:

Books & Books, Books from Mexico, Casalini Libri, E. Iturriaga & Cia., Esteva Servicios Bibliotecarios, Gale Cengage Learning,

Gavilanes Books from Indoamerica, Grupo Editorial Nacional, HBbooks Chile, Howard Karno Books, Inc.,

Iberoamericana Editorial Vervuert, The Latin American Book Store, Librería García Cambeiro, Librería Linardi y Risso,

Libros Andinos, Libros Argentinos para Todo el Mundo, Libros Centroamericanos Inc., Libros de Barlovento,

Libros Latinos, Libros Peruanos S.A., Literatura de Vientos Tropicales, MJSE: Libros de Todo México,

Puvill Libros Spain, México & Portugal, Retta Libros, and Sonia Silva Comércio de Livros.

SALALM extends special thanks to the Local Arrangements Team: Meiyolet Méndez and Gayle Williams.

The following individuals generously contributed to the organization of this conference:

Carol Ávila, SALALM Secretariat, the staff and volunteers from the University of Miami and Florida International University, Laurie Cohen from the University of Pittsburgh, Manomano Mukungurutse from Duquesne University, and the many Local Arrangements Volunteers from University of Miami Libraries and from Florida International University Libraries (including SALALM’s own Lesbia Varona and Tim Thompson).